181020_sports_mville_jube (copy)

The Maryville Spoofhounds will join Class 2 District 8 after winning multiple state titles in Class 3.

Major changes are coming to the MSHSAA football postseason this year with the shuffling of classifications and district assignments.

Among the biggest moves is five-time champion Maryville dropping from Class 3 to a loaded Class 2 District 8 field.

The Spoofhounds will join a district that includes Brookfield, Lawson, Lexington, Trenton, Richmond and reigning Class 2 runner-up and 11-man newcomer St. Joseph Christian.

The Lions moved to 11-man this year after two decades of playing 8-man.

St. Joseph Central will remain in Class 5 District 8 with North Kansas City, Oak Park, Park Hill South and Staley.

In Class 4 District 8, Lafayette will duke it out with the likes of Kearney, Platte County, Smithville and Excelsior Springs.

Benton’s Class 3 District 8 field will include Cameron, Chillicothe, Pembroke Hill and Savannah in the eight-team grouping.

Class 1 District 7 is filled with area teams, including East Buchanan, Maysville, Mid-Buchanan, North Platte, Hamilton, Plattsburg, Polo and West Platte.

Gallatin and Princeton are among the Class 1 District 8 field.

Bishop LeBlond’s drop to 8-man finds the Eagles in District 4 with DeKalb, Mound City, North Andrew, Rock Port, South Holt and East Atchison.

The MSHSAA regular season gets underway Friday, Aug. 30.

Brandon Zenner can be reached

at brandon.zenner@newspressnow.com.

Follow him on Twitter: @NPNowZenner.