Northwest's Adams nominated for award

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, May 23, 2014 5:12 pm | Updated: 6:39 pm, Fri May 23, 2014.

Recently graduated Northwest Missouri State quarterback Trevor Adams is among the finalists for the Ken B. Jones award, an all-encompassing honor given to top MIAA athletes.

A three-year starter at quarterback in a career that ended with a fourth Northwest national title, Adams finished with a 3.94 cumulative grade point average as a biology/psychology major.

On the field, the Odessa, Texas, native led Division II with a Northwest-record 73 percent completion rate last season, earning MIAA offensive player of the year honors in the process and finishing with 3,065 passing yards and 30 touchdown strikes.

Currently in chiropractic school in Dallas, Adams earned National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete acclaim, traveled to Haiti in conjunction with Christian Campus House and served as a huddle leader at Fellowship of Christian Athletes Acceleration Camps.

Ex-Pittsburg State linebacker Nate Dreiling -- set to workout with the Kansas City Chiefs at a rookie camp this weekend -- is also among the three men's nominees. 

© 2015 St. Joseph News-Press and FOX 26 KNPN. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Clean & On Topic. Comments must be on topic. Nothing obscene, vulgar or lewd.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Adhere to our terms of service.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Wednesday 03/04/2015

Northwest is No. 3 in latest regional basketball rankings

Monday 03/02/2015

Northwest Missouri State sweeps MIAA tennis awards

Friday 02/27/2015

Western, Northwest baseball teams will stay inside this weekend

Thursday 02/26/2015

Softball tournament canceled for Northwest Northwest tennis teams receive national, regional rankings

Wednesday 02/25/2015

Bearcat extra: Northwest men's basketball coach Ben McCollum

Tuesday 02/24/2015

Peoples named MIAA pitcher of the week

Friday 02/20/2015

Northwestern State hires Daye from Missouri Southern as defensive coordinator

Wednesday 02/18/2015

Griffons, Bearcats baseball schedules bow to weather

Tuesday 02/17/2015

Western baseball home opener moved

Tuesday 02/10/2015

Griffons' Saladino nabs pitcher of the week honors

Monday 02/09/2015

Week-early NCAA Division II men's basketball Central Region rankings

Thursday 02/05/2015

Northwest men top MIAA preseason tennis poll Maryville soccer star staying home

Wednesday 02/04/2015

Griffons nab 7 soccer recruits

Monday 02/02/2015

Northwest football reels in talent-rich list of commits

Friday 01/30/2015

Twitter commits show Northwest football focused on adding linebackers

Saturday 01/24/2015

Cotman latest Missouri Western football pledge

Friday 01/23/2015

Maryville's McMahon among future Northwest football players to share their commitment over Twitter

Wednesday 01/21/2015

Western reels in 5 commitments to 2015 football recruiting class

Monday 01/19/2015

Park Hill duo commits to play football Northwest Missouri State

Friday 01/02/2015

Maryville football product committed to Northwest

Monday 12/22/2014

Colbert named MIAA basketball player of the week

Thursday 12/18/2014

Northwest football signs 3 out of California

Wednesday 12/17/2014

Longacre receives another All-American

Saturday 12/13/2014

Website: Former Northwest QB in as Kearney coach

Thursday 12/11/2014

Northwest volleyball signs 3

Wednesday 12/10/2014

Paint it Gold Blitz scheduled for Saturday Two Western players net academic all-American honors

Tuesday 12/09/2014

Western women lose Sunday game

Wednesday 12/03/2014

Reimer named Academic All-American Longacre repeats as Super Region 3 defensive player of the year Rottinghaus named to All-American team

Wednesday 11/26/2014

Western's Rottinghaus honored again

Thursday 11/20/2014

Nine Western, 9 Northwest soccer players earn MIAA academic honors Western volleyball inks 3 recruits for 2015

Wednesday 11/19/2014

Smith signs 4 to Northwest women's basketball roster Hill signs to Colts' practice squad Western lands 6 on All-MIAA volleyball team

Tuesday 11/18/2014

Softball Griffons add power, speed

Friday 11/14/2014

Western basketball adds another Iowan to fold

Thursday 11/06/2014

Bearcats, Griffons receive All-District academic honors

Wednesday 11/05/2014

Six Griffons earn All-MIAA soccer selections

Monday 10/27/2014

Northwest 7th in initial regional rankings

Monday 10/20/2014

Northwest drops 9 spots in AFCA poll

Wednesday 09/17/2014

Northwest announces 2014-15 basketball schedules

Tuesday 09/09/2014

Former Griffon's time in Jacksonville concludes

Saturday 09/06/2014

Brandon Dixon promoted from practice squad by Tampa Bay

Friday 08/29/2014

Local Western stars again on cut-day bubble

Thursday 08/28/2014

FOX 26 KNPN to broadcast MIAA games

Online poll

Loading…