The annual Engineering Technology Advancement Committee banquet was held at Missouri Western State University in March. At the banquet, several award and student scholarship recipients were recognized.

The 2019 Engineering Technology Excellence Award recipient was Frank Frudenthal. This award is given to a professional in the engineering technology industry who has shown outstanding and continuous commitment to advancing the field of engineering technology, as well as support for Missouri Western’s mission, vision and legacy. Frudenthal founded the manufacturing arm of Altec Industries, Inc. in 1973 and built it into the largest manufacturer of hydraulic aerial and digging devices in the world.

The Engineering Technology Student Excellence Award recognizes a current student in Missouri Western’s engineering technology program and is based on academic excellence, leadership and service. The 2019 recipient was Calen Hensley. He is a senior electronics engineering technology major with a mathematics minor. Hensley completed an internship at Black & Veatch in Kansas City, Missouri, in the summer of 2018, and he was offered a full-time job there after he graduates.

Students who received the Beavers Heavy Construction Scholarship and the John (Jack) and Dorothy Carmody Scholarship also were recognized at the banquet.

Beavers scholarship recipients include current engineering technology students Hana Alula, Ernest Jackson, Christian Robbins, Jesse Pierce and Zachary Shipp.

Jack and Dorothy Carmody’s son, John, was on hand to present the Carmody scholarship to current student Chad Higgins, who received it for the second time, and Benjamin Wilson, who will attend Missouri Western this fall.

The Engineering Technology Advancement Committee, started in 2009, is comprised of individuals who have become advocates for the engineering technology program at Missouri Western. Current members include Ryan Schultz, R/S Electric; Al Landes and Kyle Phillips, Herzog Contracting Corp.; Ron Auxier, Ellison-Auxier Architects; and Mike Brickey, Lawhon Construction Company.